Chicken and the Egg

I must have been about nine or ten when we got Roady.  We lived in an agricultural area with varied crops, dairy and chicken farms along with lots of horse ranches.  In spring we would drive down the country roads by the pastures and see the new calves and fouls.  We also had rodeos every summer.  One year they had a kid’s event where they released young pullets and let the kids run and try to catch them.  Must have terrified the poor chickens.  My parents were sure that there was no way we would catch one and so they let us try.  To their astonishment, my brother returned with his prize.  Oops!  What to do now? 

On the way home we stopped at the Alpha Beta market and gathered some wooden orange crates.  The next day Dad and my brother added some chicken wire and made a nice coop.  I was so excited.  A bit of farm life in our backyard.  Each day we would eagerly check for eggs.  We knew little about chicken husbandry so the fact that this pullet might not be old enough to lay escaped us.  When weeks went by and Roady didn’t produce the longed for eggs, my brother’s interest waned.  I begged to take over the task of caring for the bird, but my parents said no.  I think they were glad to have a reason to say good-buy to the unplanned Rodeo surprise. I can’t blame them, as farming was not part of their dreams.

But it is my dream.  When we started planning for our farm, I quickly borrowed books on chickens from the library and I searched the internet for information.  When I was checking the various local venues for places to buy chickens from, I looked on our local newspaper’s website and found many ads from backyard farmers who sell eggs.  I now buy fresh eggs that taste better than the organic range free eggs from the market and are cheaper.  And they are huge!  They make the extra large variety at the store look like pigeon eggs. 

Along with the eggs, I am enjoying a new friendship with my egg lady.    She is delightful.  We hit it right off talking about organic gardens and local growers.  Yesterday, when I mentioned the apricot blessing and stretching the dollar, she gathered various recipes for zucchini along with tomatoes and zucchinis from her garden for us. 

All this makes the wait to have our own flock easier.  Meanwhile I read and dream.  Do you have dreams of the country?

Psalm 91:4 (New International Version)

   He will cover you with his feathers,
       and under his wings you will find refuge;
       his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart

Psalm 33:18 (New International Version)

 But the eyes of the LORD are on those who fear him,
       on those whose hope is in his unfailing love

Leave a Reply

